Soundcheck Oct. 18 - Welcome Back!

A belated welcome back to a new semester of school and Soundcheck! We’ve been back on the air for a few weeks, but here’s to our first posting and track list of the semester. Catch up on the songs played on today’s show here.

Some select music news from the summer hiatus: Olafur Arnalds’ fourth studio solo album re:member was released in August. Some favorites of mine include “unfold,” “they sink,” and “saman,” which had airtime on this week’s show. He also did an incredible set for NPR’s Tiny Desk Concert series, which you can watch here.

After much anticipation, Florence and the Machine’s High as Hope came out at the end of June. We played the singles “Hunger” and “Sky Full of Song” on the show earlier this year. Of the new tracks revealed on the album, “100 Years” and “Big God” are standouts. Give the full album a listen if you haven’t already. At a judicious ten tracks coming in at just over 40 minutes, it’s a minimalist, curated LP which tells a beautiful story from start to finish. Of course, Florence’s vocals are top notch as always.

Other new releases: The Joy Formidable with AAARTH, William Fitzsimmons with Mission Bell, and Seinabo Sey with I’m a Dream.

As always, thanks for tuning into Soundcheck. Looking forward to another great year. Happy listening!


Listen Now
Current Show: The Sting